Chartreuse & Gray- I brought work home

26 Oct

We just bought a new house on five acres.  It’s an old 1910 original farmhouse; absolutely awesome, and totally inspirational.  The property is filled with outbuildings galore!!  A potential office space someday- an adorable little art studio for all my creations- and of course a barn which now holds my new C&P letterpress and will be completely revamped and remodeled soon I hope (to become my print shop)!  The house needs a lot of work, in a good way.  Did I mention it was built in 1910?  We are the THIRD owners EVER of this property…so while the whole house has been updated and remodeled and additions have been added, it still needs a ton of work to get it to look like what I envisioned when I walked through the doors for the first time.

First, I have to say: I loooove gray.  EVERYTHING I have is some shade of gray right now.  The walls, some furniture, clothes….I’ve even painted the bathroom vanity gray.  On that note, I’m also really into chartreuse & burnt yellow- hence- I brought my favorite inspiration colors that I want to use on all of my design work into the house and painted our dining room a few weeks ago a BEAUTIFUL shade of chartreuse next to the world’s most perfect gray paint ever (Benjamin Moore- Stardust).  Yes, I didn’t want to give out the name because I want to be the only one with that perfect color of gray in my house…but I know any of you designy, artsy, creatives out there would kill me if I didn’t give out the secret.  Grr.  Not to mention, this chartreuse has a fabulous chameleon effect and changes colors in the sunlight!!  During the day, it is a burnt yellow- at night…a vibrant shade of chartreuse.  I LOVE IT!

One room at a time.  🙂

6 Responses to “Chartreuse & Gray- I brought work home”

  1. Lili October 28, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    so beautiful! can’t wait to see it in person 🙂

  2. AJ July 31, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Love your blog! I just ran across it…I’m looking up colors for our new home. I’m leaning towards grays (love as well!) but don’t want to go too cool w/ them. So, I’m thinking silver fox and some stardust for a deeper shade on a few walls. Do you have more photos of this particular room in stardust? Would you say it’s neutral? Thank you!

    • lifeworkmediablog September 3, 2011 at 7:24 am #

      Somehow this comment got lost…just received it! Silver Fox & Stardust worked out great for our house. Silver fox is definitely a lot “cooler”; the Stardust is a gorgeous gorgeous warm gray and we love it! Yes, it is certainly neutral- anything and everything looks good against it.

  3. Jaime November 27, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Hi, what brand and color is the chartreuse?! Please and thank you!

Leave a comment